a sessional indemnity of \$3,200 and an allowance of \$1,600 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties. The Leader of the Opposition receives an allowance of \$6,000 in addition to his sessional indemnity.

14.—Legislatures of Nova Scotia, 1933-61, as at Apr. 30, 1963

Nore.—Legislatures from Confederation to 1923 are given in the 1924 Year Book, p. 76, and for 1924-33 in the 1938 edition, p. 111.

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 22, 1933 June 29, 1937 Oct. 28, 1941 Oct. 23, 1945 June 9, 1949 May 26, 1953 Oct. 30, 1956 June 7, 1960	17th 18th 19th 20th 21st 22nd 23rd 24th	4 4 3	Mar. 1, 1934 Mar. 1, 1938 Feb. 19, 1942 Mar. 14, 1946 Mar. 21, 1950 Feb. 24, 1954 Feb. 27, 1957 Feb. 8, 1961	May 20, 1937 Sept. 19, 1941 Sept. 12, 1945 Apr. 27, 1949 Apr. 14, 1953 Sept. 20, 1956 Apr. 26, 1960

¹ Life of Legislature not expired at Apr. 30, 1963.

15.—Seventeenth Ministry of Nova Scotia, as at Apr. 30, 1963

(Party standing at latest General Election, June 7, 1960: 27 Progressive Conservative, 15 Liberal and 1 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation.)

Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Hon. R. L. STANFIELD	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956
. Hon. G. I. Sмітн	Nov. 20, 1956	(May 2, 1962 Nov. 20, 1956
	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956
. Hon. S. T. Руке	Nov. 20, 1956	(Nov. 20, 1956 May 2, 1962
Hon. E. D. HALIBURTON	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956 July 27, 1959
Hon. E. A. MANSON	Nov. 20, 1956	Nov. 20, 1956
Hon. N. L. FERGUSSON	Nov. 20, 1956	(July 27, 1959 (May 2, 1962
Hon. W. S. KENNEDY JONES	Apr. 21, 1960	Oct. 20, 1960 Oct. 20, 1960 May 2, 1962
Hon. DONALD M. SMITH	Oct. 13, 1960	{Dec. 12, 1961 Oct. 13, 1960
Hon. GEORGE A. BURRIDGE	Oct. 13, 1960	Oct. 13, 1960
	 Hon. R. L. STANFIELD Hon. G. I. SMITH Hon. R. A. DONAHOE Hon. S. T. PYKE Hon. E. D. HALIBURTON Hon. E. A. MANSON Hon. N. L. FERGUSSON Hon. W. S. KENNEDY JONES Hon. DONALD M. SMITH 	Name First Appointment Hon. R. L. STANFIELD. Nov. 20, 1956 Hon. G. I. SMITH. Nov. 20, 1956 Hon. R. A. DONAHOE. Nov. 20, 1956 Hon. S. T. PYKE. Nov. 20, 1956 Hon. E. D. HALIBURTON. Nov. 20, 1956 Hon. E. A. MANSON Nov. 20, 1956 Hon. N. L. FERGUSSON Nov. 20, 1956 Hon. W. S. KENNEDY JONES. Apr. 21, 1960 Hon. DONALD M. SMITH. Oct. 13, 1960

Subsection 4.—New Brunswick

The Government of New Brunswick has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. The Hon. J. Leonard O'Brien, Lieutenant-Governor at Apr. 30, 1963, was commissioned to office June 6, 1958. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation (1867) are cited in the 1960 Year Book, p. 108.

The Legislature elected Apr. 22, 1963 is the 45th in New Brunswick's history and the 18th since Confederation. It has 52 members who are elected for a statutory term of five years. Premiers from Confederation to 1959 are listed in the 1960 Year Book, p. 108.